History of the Weir-Jordan House
The house at 223 N. Edgeworth thrives as a testament to Greensboro’s Southern charm. Built in c.1856 for Dr. and Mrs. David Weir, it was possibly designed by renowned architect William Smith Andrews of Ohio. The two-story center hall floor plan has never undergone a major structural renovation and retains many original elements such as plaster moldings, four-panel doors, molded baseboards, staircase and newel. After the Weirs’ deaths, the home was sold to tobacconist and Sheriff James Jordan for $5000. He left his indelible mark on the house by adding iron “J’s” on both of the downstairs fireplaces.
The Greensboro Woman’s Club acquired the property in 1921 and has maintained it to this day. The meeting space inside was enlarged by enclosing the first level of the two-story front porch and removing the north and south parlor walls. A commercial kitchen allows for catering meals for civic meetings, weddings, rehearsal dinners and dances. Grants and donations fund major restoration projects such as heating and air, electrical upgrades, and painting.
As one of Greensboro’s seven remaining pre-1860 structures, the home was listed on the National Historic Register in 1984 and continues to witness Greensboro’s growth and progress, particularly the renaissance of our downtown area.
Learn more about the architectural history behind the Weir Jordan House by reading the following article by Benjamin Briggs, Preservation Greensboro: